Logo image
Logo image

Non-Recognized Dog Breeds According to the FCI

3 minutes
Non-Recognized Dog Breeds According to the FCI
Last update: 09 August, 2018

The Fédération Cynologique Internationale (FCI) is responsible for setting the standards for each dog breed and classifying them into groups according to their physical characteristics and temperaments. There are 10 different groups in total. Additionally, each group is divided into sections.

However, there are non-recognized dog breeds as well. In other words, the FCI has not recognized them for a variety of reasons, like if they are endorsed by other canine organizations or don’t meet the FCI requirements. We’ll tell you all about them here, so read on.

Non-recognized dog breeds, per the FCI

There are 9 non-recognized dog breeds. Here are a few examples:

1. American Pit Bull Terrier

Originally from the United States, the FCI does not accept the American Pit Bull Terrier due to the controversy surrounding the breed (in relation to illegal dog fights). However, the American Kennel Club (also known as the AKC) has recognized this breed. The AKC is an American organization that that issues its own breeding rules.

Some figure

They are of medium size, weigh up to 30 kg, and have large heads with low, wide-set eyes and a jaw with razor-sharp teeth. Their coats can be any color, but white, black and brown are the most common. In some countries, it is illegal to have an American Pit Bull Terrier.

2. Boerboel (South African Mastiff)

Originating from South Africa, Boerboels are a Molosser breed, a cross between a Bulmastiff, a Great Dane and the now-extinct Bullenbeisser. The breed is protective and ideal for hard work. Borboels, also known as South African Mastiffs, can weigh 90 kg and measure 75 cm high. Their soft, short fur is either light fawn, gray, brown, chestnut or black.

Boerboels are obedient, reliable, affectionate, playful and very protective of their families (to the point of being aggressive with strangers). In addition, they are not afraid of anything and are very sure of themselves. They should not live in apartments due to their size; they need space to run and develop. 

3. Spanish Bulldog

Spanish Bulldogs are medium-sized hunting dogs. They come from inter-breeding between several breeds, such as the old English Bulldog and the now-extinct Bullenbeisser.

Only the Royal Canine Society of Spain recognizes the Spanish Bulldog. It is a Molosser breed, with a large head, short, thick fur (red, black, gray or brindle), a short snout and thick skin with folds on the neck.

They are somewhat restless, but unlike what their appearance might make you believe, they are quiet. The Spanish Bulldog is also very sure of himself, courageous and faithful.

4. American Bulldog

This breed emerged in the southeastern United States to protect livestock and assist hunters. They are sturdy, compact and quite agile and lively. American Bulldogs have very short, smooth fur and can be white, brown, red or brindle. They are of medium size and have large heads, droopy lips and a black nose.

The American Bulldog is another FCI non-recognized dog breed, but it is recognized by the UKC. As for the breed’s temperament, they are sociable, intelligent and very active animals. They’re dominant with other dogs, affectionate and protective. The American Bulldog could be a good choice for a family that lives in a house, rather than an apartment.

Some figure

5. Akbash

The Akbash comes from Turkey, developed several centuries ago to care for sheep. The breed’s name means “white head”. As far as appearance is concerned, they look like the Great Pyrenees.

For a long time, two other Turkish breeds (Kangal and Kars) and the Akbash together went by the Anatolian Shepherd Dog. They are currently two separate breeds.

There are two varieties: one with short fur and one with long fur. Both are white and very hardworking. The Akbash is very quiet when not on duty, and many people believe they even bond with the sheep they care for.

Other non-recognized dog breeds

The other non-recognized dog breeds by the FCI are the Alapaha Blue Blood Bulldog (from the United States), the Kangal (Turkey), the Klee Kai (Alaska) and the Shikoku Inu (Japan).

This text is provided for informational purposes only and does not replace consultation with a professional. If in doubt, consult your specialist.